NST is switching the national paradigm of R&D to leading and creation through the support
and development of science and technology government-funded research institutes.

Government-funded research institutes have played a leading role in the industrialization unprecedented in the world through the localization of advanced technology. Now, it is time to realize the creative economy that leads to the happy life of people by transferring from chasing R&D to leading R&D to keep pace with changing times and markets.

To this end, the research council system that was originally divided into basic science and industrial science has been unified into the National Research Council of Science and Technology since June 30, 2014, thus creating the national R&D innovation platform for the convergence and cooperation of 25 science and technology research institutes.

Two dots can form a line if they are connected, but three dots can shape a figure. Depending on how we connect 25 research institutes, our territory of science and further the terrain and extent of the economic territory can vary. NST strives to encourage research institutes to focus on research based on autonomy and accountability and then continue expanding the territory through the creation of innovative achievements that can lead the world.

50 years of science and technology development. NST will lead the growth and development of research institutes as an innovation designer to prepare for the future 50 years.

Thank you.

Chairman, NST



  • 1974B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Seoul National University
  • 1976M.S. Mechanical Engineering, KAIST
  • 1983Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering, Northwestern University


  • 1976 ~ 2007 Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Yeungnam University
  • 1995 ~ 2000Head of National Policy Support Project Team, Yeungnam University,
    Dean of Engineering College, Yeungnam University
  • 2001 ~ 2003Member, National Science & Technology Council
  • 2001 ~ 2005Chairman of the Board, Gyeongbuk TechnoparkPresident, Yeungnam University
  • 2003 ~ 2005Committee Member, Presidential Commission on Policy PlanningAdvisory Committee Member, Presidential Committee on Balanced National Development
  • 2005Head of Changwon Innovative Cluster Promotion Team, KICOX
  • 2006Member, Board of Directors, KISTEP (Korea Institute of Science & Technology Evaluation and Planning)
  • 2008 ~ 2011President, KIMM (Korea Institute of Machinery and Materials)
  • 2008Member, Board of Directors, UNIST
  • 2014.6.30 ~ NOWChairman, NST (National Research Council of Science and Technology)