Composing the Ecosystem for Convergence

Convergence Research Committee

Convergence Research Projects

Convergence Research Committee

An advisory body that consists of experts from industries, academia, and research field for efficiently planning, evaluating, and managing projects,
functioning as the control tower for convergence research projects among GRIs

Appointment Method

The chairman of NST appoints the committee members out of science, technology, humanities and social science in industries, academia, and
research fields economists and industry experts


15 members including the chairman of the committee

Category Name Organization
(An Acting) Chairman

Lee, Jae Young

National Nanofab Center (NNFC)

Members Koh, Jean Korea Mobile Internet Business Association (MOIBA)

Kim, Kyung Hyo

School of Medicine, Ewha Univ.

Kim, Do Kyung

Dept. of Materials Science and Engineering, KAIST

Kim, Sung Su

Korea Research Institute of Chemical Technology (KRICT)

Kim, Sung Wan

School of Medicine, SNU Univ.

Park, Bang Joo

Dept. of Electronic Engineering, Gachon Univ.

Song, Chul Hwa

Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute (KAERI)

Seo, Chang Ho

Dept. of Applied Mathematics, Kongju Univ.

Shin, Jae Yeol


Yang, Eun Kyung

SK Bioland

Ryu, Seong Hyeon

Doosan Heavy Industries & Construction

Yoon, Hye On

Korea Basic Science Institute (KBSI)

Lee, Jae Chul

National Geographic Foundation for Science and Exploration (NGS Asia)


2 years (can be consecutive)


  • To establish convergence research medium- to long-term directions and strategies
  • To establish implementation plans for convergence research projects
  • To select the subjects of convergence research and establish the direction for excavating, evaluating, managing tasks
  • To improve institutions related to convergence research